The outlook tower on Velká Čantoryje (995m above sea level) offers tourists a non-traditional view of three countries – the Czech Republic, the Slovak Republic and Poland. It is 29m high and a chair lift leads to the top of the mountain.
The lovely area of Matice Slezská (Silesian Foundation) consists of stylish timbered cottages and also two natural amphitheatres.
It ranks among the oldest national log-houses in the Těšín Region. It was built in 1781 and it is the last evidence of the original development in the area of present-day Havířov.
The most easterly located observation structure in our republic is situated directly on the top of Kozubová Hill (981 metres above sea level). This is the tower of St. Ann´s Chapel. It is accessible to the public several times a year (e.g. on the pilgrimage to St. Ann) and there is a fine view of the surroundings.
Kilns were built at the beginning of the 19th century, when iron ore was excavated in the territory of the village. The mining of limestone and its calcining in “Wopienkach” as kilns were called in the local dialect also fall to this period. There are two round shaft kilns the operation of which ended in 1965.
The unique two-storey fort consists of two parts connected by a tunnel under the embankment of the original railway, these days a road. It was armed with two model 36 canons, four heavy model 37 machine guns, a light and a heavy machine gun in the bells and three light machine guns in auxiliary slits. The major part of the interior equipment was disassembled after the Munich conference and the con...
Renaissance single-nave timbered church (Renesanční jednolodní roubený kostel) from 1642 with striking Mediaeval designed material. The spire of the church was originally an independent bell tower that was attached to the body of the church by local craftsmen in 1781. Repaired in the years 1863 and 1877. Polychromes in the interior were introduced in 1642 by the painter Štěpán Sova of Nebor. Mass ...
Permanent expositions of this branch of the Těšín Region Museum situated in the historical building of the former rectory deal with the Magic World of Trams (timetables, tickets, photographs, a functional model of a tram carriage) and the Tradition of Mining in the Karviná Region which familiarises visitors with the influence of mining on the nature of the landscape, the character and manner of li...
This concrete arched bridge over the Olše River dates back to 1925. The monument is unique because of the bridge’s arch design. Several years ago, the bridge was lifted with the help of a unique construction procedure to protect it against flooding and to allow it to be completely renovated. The bridge is a major dominating feature of the municipal area of Lázně Darkov and represents an imposing s...
This pseudo-historic cast iron fountain located in the middle of Masaryk Square adds to the pleasant look of this precious historic city centre. The fountain was built in 1900 on the site of an 18th century original stone tank that replaced the original 16th century wooden tank.
The Fryštát Empire Chateau in the town of Karviná, an important mansion of the Larish-Mönich family, was renovated and opened for the public for the first time in 1997. It arose with the rebuilding of the baroque-renaissance chateau.
One of the most valuable and the most interesting locations in the territory of Těšín Silesia is a bi-cultural elevated fortification in Chotěbuz-Podobora.
from 1739 is a very unique structure with mural wall paintings of floral patterns that have been discovered only recently.
from 1897 in romantic style.
under the fabulous Čantoryje Mountain from 1576, originally Protestant, since the 17th century Catholic. It has a valuable baroque interior.
from the 18th century with a cemetery that is structured in an interesting way.
The church of St Peter of Alcantara, often simply called the ‘leaning church’, is situated on the outskirts of Karviná. Despite a history of movement, which has seen the subsoil collapse by several tens of metres over a relatively short period, and which has left the church with a pronounced lean, it is still standing and provides the region with a unique attraction.
This memorial is dedicated to the pilots of the First Czechoslovak Mixed Air Division in the USSR who were shot down during fights for Moravská brána in 1945 and pilots from the Těšín region who were shot down during the Second World War.
This memorial by academic sculptor Franciszek Świdr houses a permanent exhibition called The Occupation and Resistance Movement in the Těšín Region. It reminds us of the suffering and defiance of the local people during the Second World War. It opened five years after an event that occurred on 6 August 1944 and is today referred to as the “Životice tragedy”: 36 men from Životice and its surroundin...
It is found in one of the row houses that is remarkable because of its façade. Today’s red facade, just like the entire building, was designed by significant town architect Eduard David in 1928.